What is car insurance?
Operating any vehicle comes with a certain amount of risk, as almost every driver will be in an accident if they’re driving long enough. Texas drivers should always use seatbelts and practice safe driving habits to minimize the risk of an accident. Because things can still happen, though, there’s also car insurance.
Car insurance can help provide financial protection in the event of an auto accident. Policies often offer a variety of coverages for accidents, and may cover other incidents too.
Who in Texas should carry auto insurance?
Auto insurance isn’t optional. Texas state law generally requires that all drivers have at least some insurance in place if they’re operating vehicles on public roads.
The state’s minimum coverages are 30/60/25, which refers to required limits. Drivers generally need to have injury liability insurance in the amount of $30,000/person and $60,000/accident. At least $25,000/accident of property damage liability is needed.
Many drivers choose limits that are much higher than these minimum requirements, and also get additional coverages that aren’t required. The state’s minimum requirements provide only basic protection, and those limits could easily be exceeded by a single accident claim.